Computer is Kill

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by RevampedRebel, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. RevampedRebel

    RevampedRebel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    32
    My computer would hit high CPU usage and high RAM usage shortly after booting. Anti virus says I'm all good. If I wipe my computer, I would need a new OS. This is fun.
     
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 2
    #1
  2. Adam The Lemon

    Adam The Lemon dank dislikes

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    gg hope everything works out
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    #2
  3. Stu

    Stu IceMod Technician
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    131
    when itgets high press ctrl + shift + escape and see what process is using all your resources
     
    • Like Like x 2
    #3
  4. AceOfSpades531

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    23
    My comp was using 100% disk. I deleted my AV and it stopped
     
    #4
  5. WingEater

    WingEater Forum cleaner and professional spambotbooter
    Staff Member Respected

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    98
    LOL. Which AV did you use?
    And with slower hard drives it could be that an automatic scan was started and that was what used 100% of your disk write/read speed.
     
    #5
  6. AceOfSpades531

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    23
    Kaspersky
     
    #6
  7. Savaloy

    Savaloy top warns kek
    Respected

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    91
    "ctrl+alt+del" see what processes are whoring your CPU and RAM. Close them if they are not necessary, but i don't recommend closing programmes which you don't know what they are, some can be background processes ran by Windows.

    If this doesn't help, tell me the things I will ask below -
    What operating system is it?
    What happens once the RAM/ CPU hit 100%
    Does you PC launch Windows and you are able to operate it?
    I will try my best to help,

    thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    #7
  8. WingEater

    WingEater Forum cleaner and professional spambotbooter
    Staff Member Respected

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    98
    ^ That guy is right.

    Another factor to possibly consider is AV infection. Simply speaking; Once your PC is infected with a certain type of malware (term for viruses, spyware etc.) the anti virus software might be compromised as well. Especially when you consider the high CPU at start-up as a sort of initialisation moment, it is likely, that if it is a virus, it is rooted securely in your PC. IF it even is a virus.

    Another possibility could be faulty drivers, something more innocent like adware, damage to your CPU/harddrive etc.

    Therefore whenever you suspect this:
    1. Exclude PC from network immediately
    2. Download an external scanner with another PC and place it onto an external drive (e.g. USB stick or DVD-ROM). Things like BitDefender recovery, Malwarebytes anti malware executeable etc. etc.
    3. Start PC in safe mode and scan.

    This is the only 'reasonably' safe way to determine if your PC if hit by a more advanced p
     
    #8
  9. Frost Glaceon

    Frost Glaceon Local Resident Pokéfur

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Wing is right. Also, there are software replacements to Task Manager that are a lot more effective than the default Task Manager.

    For example, I use Process Hacker. http://processhacker.sourceforge.net/
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    NOTE: THESE ARE NOT FROM MY COMPUTER. THESE IMAGES ARE JUST FROM THE SOURCEFORGE WEBSITE.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    #9
  10. RevampedRebel

    RevampedRebel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    32
    I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate which is running semi legitimately. (The crack I used is a corporate copy key.) I have 8 GB ddr2 RAM and a six core processor. It happens normally about 3 hours after turn on. The main factor is Google chrome along with Windows host processes.
     
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 1
    #10
  11. Stu

    Stu IceMod Technician
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    131
    Yeah high RAM with google chrome is to be expected, not sure about CPU though. Try re-installing chrome, and maybe disable background addons. Also go through and remove any unnecesary addons.

    Also process hacker looks cool, might give it a look, thanks
     
    #11
  12. Frost Glaceon

    Frost Glaceon Local Resident Pokéfur

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    @Stu
    I've been using it for quite some time. It's a great replacement to task manager. It even includes a termination protocol. Basically, if a certain process won't close, even with the regular process hacker functions, you can activate "Terminator" mode, which basically, if THAT doesn't close it, nothing will.
     
    #12
  13. RevampedRebel

    RevampedRebel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    32
    Thing is, I turn off chrome and all processes in its tree and I would still hover around 7 gb with intense frame lag.
     
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 2
    #13
  14. WingEater

    WingEater Forum cleaner and professional spambotbooter
    Staff Member Respected

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    98
    But what occupies those 7 Gigs?
     
    #14
  15. RevampedRebel

    RevampedRebel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    32
    Apparently windows host processes.
     
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 2
    #15
  16. WingEater

    WingEater Forum cleaner and professional spambotbooter
    Staff Member Respected

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    98
    Try Googling some of them as they should never take up that amount of RAM. :\ Have you ever used or are you currently using tools like registry cleaners or automated startup sorters?
     
    #16
  17. RevampedRebel

    RevampedRebel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    32
    I use Norton 360 and Malwarebytes. However, I do a bit of torrenting as I am sure more than half the community does. I understand the risks to using such methods, but why pay $1300 for a set of softwares when you can just get it free? I have a pirated version of windows, though it uses a key that makes it think its legit with no hacked dll files (I hope?) and got it running.
     
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 3
    #17
  18. WingEater

    WingEater Forum cleaner and professional spambotbooter
    Staff Member Respected

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    98
    Thing is - if it is a virus - that AV software does not work if your system is already infected. This is the reason as to why torrents were a pretty popular means to spread viruses and why abusing browser weaknesses with malware hidden in ads on websites is so effective. The "real time" protection does not mean that much when a program uses an escalation weakness to install itself.

    Which programs are using up the most memory when Chrome is not running?
     
    #18
  19. Adam The Lemon

    Adam The Lemon dank dislikes

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Honestly, I think Chrome is trash it is to vulnerable to viruses and unwanted addons, Firefox isn't as complicated and doesn't get infected as easily. I know this isn't completely OT but I'd recommend using Firefox.
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    #19
  20. Stu

    Stu IceMod Technician
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    131
    You are thinking of Internet Explorer here...
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    #20